Social butterfly me (#SFWApro)

Last weekend was surprisingly social.

Usually I don’t interact with people beyond librarians and salesclerks. But Saturday a friend from the writer’s group had a birthday party, so I went and even got TYG to go along. It was enjoyable, including meeting some writing professionals from outside our group (his sister and her partner).

Sunday, writer Allegra had one of her work days where we’re all invited over to her place, bring food, eat. I haven’t made it in a while, but this time, success! I brought a fig muffin recipe I’ve been meaning to try for a while; very tasty, but a bit dry.

We spent about ninety minutes sitting around, eating and chatting. Then we got to work, intermixed with more chatting. While I don’t usually like working weekends, I got a solid three hours of work done. In between I petted Allegra’s greyhound.

This was all fun in itself. It also left me in much better shape to face the week. I think it was the combination of getting out and hanging with having so much time away from the pups, and from sitting in the living room. I wasn’t anywhere near as stressed about puppy care and personal space until it caught up with me again at the end of the week. Next week I’m giving myself a vacation so that will help.

I did another nine articles for the Leaf project (my favorite: “How to Become an Evangelist”) and another Screen Rant. And I finished the proposal for a new film book, though I’ll want to look at it once more next month before I mail it off.

Once again fiction got short shrift. I did put in some work on Trouble and Glass, shifting it forward to the 1950s. That really seems to have helped, but I won’t know for sure until I finish this draft.

I submitted one short story (Backstage With the Hypothetical Dead) and one query for a column.

I did a lot of research reading for the book version of Undead Sexist Cliches. After I read my first draft over, I felt it was missing something, but I’m not sure what. So possibly reading more on the subject will either help me see the problem, or convince me I’m just reinventing the wheel and give up. Stay tuned for the answer!

And once again I put in more than 35 hours. But once we can take the dogs to day care without worrying about canine flu, I’ll use some of it to take my dog free day and catch up on cleaning and similar duties. The house has gotten messy enough I’m actually looking forward to it.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Nonfiction, Personal, The Dog Ate My Homework, Undead sexist cliches, Writing

Leave a Reply

