More people staring at me out of book covers (#SFWApro)

So I’m off from today through Monday so you’re getting some posts I already had handy, rather than the usual week-in-review, book roundup, etc. Starting with another look at cover art.

I’ve complained in the past how I hate covers which are just the protagonist staring out at me. But here’s an example of a staring cover that works, because the starer is so obviously a Bad Girl who “knew how to handle men too well.” Though if the best cover blurb they can offer is that Tulsa World thinks it “reads well,” I doubt the contents were memorable.

dailyb-1Next we have one that technically involves someone staring out at us but dang, I think it works just fine.

dailyb-2Next we have a cover which doesn’t grab me at all, but it’s worth noting for the text up top. Imagine a time when a privately printed edition would cost $15 a copy, and that was Serious Money.

dailybCover art uncredited on all three. All rights reside with current holder.

Leave a comment

Filed under cover art

Leave a Reply

