Is it time to eat a frog? (#SFWApro)

lap dogAre you familiar with the “eat the frog” theory? The idea is that if there’s a job or a piece of work you’ve been dreading and postponing, you make it the first thing you do next morning. Get it out of the way and the rest of the day will feel like a breeze. Plus you actually get the crappy work, whatever it may be, done.

There are two jobs I’ve consistently been postponing, so I think I will eat the frog come Monday and just do them, ahead of anything else.

Once is on the RPG project I’ve been working on. It’s done (subject to edits) except for the mapping, and mapping in detail (right down to grids and such) isn’t something I did well back when I was a DM. I’m not good doing it now. But I need to do it to finish the project, so it’s time to sit down, map, map some more, and finally write finis to the gig (and take comfort that next time, it’ll be a lot easier).

The other is an article someone asked me to write (no details just now, thanks). It’s a worthwhile topic and I think I can find a market, but it’ll take heavy research and I doubt it will end up being a good hourly rate. Which is acceptable with fiction, less so with other projects. Could it lead to more gigs? Maybe … but then again, I thought that about the stuff I’ve done for the Raleigh Public Record. So Monday I will decide whether to do it and who to query about it.

Now, as to this week, it went well. I put in around 9,000 words on Southern Discomfort, which is pretty good given I had that story problem to crack, and that two chapters this week were entirely new stuff. That’s slowing me down compared to when I was rewriting old scenes, but it’s not slowing me down too much. It probably helped that my plan for doggy day care this week—lots of plotting other projects and tackling the two frog assignments—didn’t work. My mind refused to slip into plotting mode so I defaulted to writing Southern Discomfort. And that way avoided wasting writing time trying to lash myself to do work I was resisting.

I did put in some replotting work on an earlier story, Mage’s Masquerade. It’s a Regency inspired by my friend Cindy Holbrook’s first novel, Lady Megan’s Masquerade (Cindy gave me the OK to do that) and I liked it … but after finishing it, I realized the plot just doesn’t hold together. I’ve cracked the two main problems (the opening sets the wrong tone, and my heroine’s motivation has to change completely) so now I’m rewriting to see if I’ve fixed enough.

I made a couple of minor fixes to Questionable Minds, the steampunk novel that sold to Barbarian Books (which died before publication) and I reworked It’s Never Jam Today and Making a Famine Where Abundance Lies (title probably to change). I also wrote and released my new And column on why “Trump’s power will be strictly limited if he’s elected” is a bad argument.

And the dogs were both good—a little needy at times, but the transition to my post-time travel book work week (i.e., I can’t let them sit on my lap and get petted while I watch a video and count it as work) has gone smoother than I worried. Plus we’re now caging off the chair Plush likes to use to climb onto the end table (which is not stable) and that’s eliminated his favorite “how do I make daddy pay attention to me?” tactic.

Now comes the weekend. And Monday, I choke the frog down.

sleepy plush

 

1 Comment

Filed under Nonfiction, Now and Then We Time Travel, Southern Discomfort, Story Problems, The Dog Ate My Homework, Time management and goals, Writing

One response to “Is it time to eat a frog? (#SFWApro)

  1. Pingback: I ate the frog but locked up the dog (#SFWApro) | Fraser Sherman's Blog

Leave a Reply

