Time-travel through your TV (#SFWApro)

A lot of television shows this week.

I finally finished watching FRINGE which starts as the X-Files-ish Fringe Division of the FBI tackles Weird Phenomenon of the Week Cases, then turns into a struggle for survival between our Earth and a parallel one, then ends with invaders from the future taking over our planet. I dropped it in the first season because the Strangeness-of-the-Week plotlines didn’t grab me at all; once the parallel Earth plotline picks up it gets much, much better, but the final season with the invasion was routine (seen one invasion, seen ’em all). So while I enjoyed watching for the book more than I expected (a damn sight more than I’ll enjoy watching Lost again!) I don’t regret skipping the series originally. “Destiny can be changed, but you have to have the will to change it.”

WAREHOUSE 13 is another one I couldn’t get into; rewatching the “Helena G. Wells” episodes (“I had the inventions and the writing talent, my brother Simon had the mustache.”) I found this more entertaining than I remembered, though I’m not in any rush to check out the rest of it (Wells here isn’t a time-traveler so I don’t really need to watch much). “You’re the teacher’s pet in any era, aren’t you?”

YouTube provided about four minutes of one episode of THE GEORGIAN HOUSE, a lost British series about two modern-day children magically drawn back to the Georgian era to help a household slave escape back to Africa. Not much I can say.

377889CHILDREN OF GREEN KNOWE (all rights to cover image with current holder) was based on Lucy M. Boston’s book about a lonely boy coming to stay at the family manse and discovering his roots. Reviews of the BBC adaptation were vague on whether children of the past who show up are ghosts, time travelers or imagination, so I checked it out (ghosts, so no).

The Star Trek retcon series ENTERPRISE had a “temporal cold war” as a running subplot so I completed watching the related episodes over the past couple of weeks. An enjoyable show about the first Enterprise, back in the days when Vulcans played hardball politics and Warp Four was unimaginably fast, though I always felt it could have been better somehow (and I never got into the Xindi war that took up the third season—the Suliban of the time war were more interesting adversaries). “It’s getting harder and harder to surprise you, captain.”

LAZER TAG ACADEMY was an eighties cartoon, in which the protagonist, Jamie Jaren, comes from the utopian 30th century (it’s one of the rare happy futures I’ve watched for my book) where her lazer tag equipment (why yes, this was a merchandising tie-in show) is capable of manifesting Green Lantern-type energy powers. Unfortunately, so is villainous Draxon Drear, whose goal is to kill Jamie’s ancestors and thereby have the power all too himself. Doesn’t hold up as well as I remembered, but not bad either. “I’ll make this as painful as possible.”

KING ARTHUR AND THE KNIGHTS OF JUSTICE was another toy tie-in show wherein Arthur King and the New York Knights football team are drawn back to Camelot to stand-in for their previous incarnations (Arthur and his knights, natch) who’ve been captured by Morgana and her evil Warlords. Another that was more fun when I first saw it (Lazer Tag Academy definitely holds up better, though).

1 Comment

Filed under Now and Then We Time Travel, TV

One response to “Time-travel through your TV (#SFWApro)

  1. Pingback: Gunslingers, physicists, Spider-Man and girl heroes: comic book collections (#SFWApro) | Fraser Sherman's Blog

Leave a Reply

